Warning: Illegal string offset 'name' in /nfs/c07/h01/mnt/113461/domains/shocklee.com/html/wp-content/plugins/genesis-simple-sidebars/plugin.php on line 106

Warning: Illegal string offset 'description' in /nfs/c07/h01/mnt/113461/domains/shocklee.com/html/wp-content/plugins/genesis-simple-sidebars/plugin.php on line 108
Emika – Dva Album Out Now — Shocklee Entertainment Universe ● The Future Frequency

Emika – Dva Album Out Now

shockleestorypic_emikadvaalbumcoverBig congrats are in order for Emika, who’s sophomore album Dva has finally dropped!

The album is entirely written, recorded, produced by Emika and features our own Hank Shocklee as Executive Producer. It starts out with the Hush Interlude, Emika’s journey to her musical roots which led her to Prague where she composed and recorded 2 classical songs for 28 string players and the Czech soprano, Michaela Šrůmová, members of The City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra. With Emika’s taste for heavy bass-minded writing not far behind, she made arrangements to feature double the usual amount of bass players during her recording. Following this daring yet completely organic introduction we are transported into a world of dark, pulsating basslines, moody, melodic synths and some of the best and most moving songwriting we’ve heard in years. A naturally gifted performer and musician, Emika lays out her raw emotion for the world to see on a record that is as comfortable in a dark, electronic dance club as it is on a contemporary music stage.

Emika on Dva:
I believe that record production and creation is very simple, it’s a labor of love, an exploration in sound, with no rules and no wrong ways of working. I decided to challenge myself: can I make the album I hear in my imagination by myself, with no mix engineer, no professional studio, just my creativity and courage to experiment? It took me a year, I worked alone in my flat, and my original belief about record production lives on. This album is not industry made music, it is my raw uncompromised art. It’s a rebel diva record.
Hank Shocklee became my executive producer half way through the creation of Dva after our friendship took a new direction. Lucky for me, for the first time in my life, I met someone who see’s my artistic vision and future as clearly as I do, and he has the knowledge and experience to support me in all areas of my music work.

Hank Shocklee on Dva:
Emika is one of the most talented artists I have worked with. She has a great sense of communicating her ideas, her deepest emotions and making it all connect in stories that are serious, sensual as well as hard hitting. Her knowledge of sound is another asset that sets her apart from all the other artists currently out, Emika is not just a female artist, she is a talented producer that can hang with any producer/singer/writer/engineer and performer in the game.

Currently on the road, the Emika Dva live show is a dramatic and show stopping performance that has hit major cities in North America and Europe, including the recent MUTEK festival in Montreal. More dates are being added so make sure to experience the album live when it comes near you!

Emika – Dva
ZEN199 – 2LP / CD / DL

Get it now on iTunes / Amazon / Ninja Tune

01. Hush (Interlude)
02. Young Minds
03. She Beats
04. Filters
05. After The Fall
06. Sing To Me
07. Dem Worlds
08. Primary Colours
09. Sleep With My Enemies
10. Wicked Game
11. Fight For Your Love
12. Mouth To Mouth
13. Searching
14. Centuries
15. Criminal Gift

P.S. Check out the new video for ‘Centuries


Speak Your Mind